2008 Annual General Meeting of Malacca Bar Committee

  • By AdminL
  • March 20, 2008
  • Comments Off on 2008 Annual General Meeting of Malacca Bar Committee

Malacca Bar Committee had its Annual General Meeting on 22.2.2008 at the Straits Hotel.

We were hoping that last year’s good response to a “Friday evening AGM” would repeat this year and we obtained quorum by 4:15 pm to start our meeting. There was good turn out of young and senior lawyers alike filling in the meeting room.

Before the meeting commenced, a representative from Echelon Risk Consulting Asia, the Company appointed by the Bar Council as Self Insured Fund (SIF)Project Transition Consultant, gave a brief talk on SIF. Clarifications were sought and due explanations were given.

Our incumbent Chairman Ng Kong Peng proceeded with the relevant items on the agenda for the day. The minutes of last year’s AGM, financial statements and annual reports were adopted without much hassle and it was pretty obvious everyone wanted to get on with the election of office bearers.

Ng was returned as Malacca Bar’s Chairman for the third year in a row and as fast as his name was nominated, nominations were closed by consensus without any challenge. R.R. Chelvarajah continues to serve the Malacca Bar as the representative to the Bar Council.

There was no contest for the election of Committee members, and the eight names proposed were accepted by the members. The new members namely Anthony Chua Yong Giap, Ng Aik Beng and Goh Chuan Chean will be serving alongside the familiar faces of Sekar Palaniandy, Jaspal Singh Gill, Fiona Tan, Nizam Bashir and Desmond Ho.


Categories: General

Comments are closed.